A number of actions are triggered in ReCharge and BigCommerce after a customer goes through the checkout with a subscription product. This article details what happens in both platforms and what store owners can customize to better fit their brand.
- ReCharge Checkout on BigCommerce
Before you start
- Customer accounts must first be enabled in BigCommerce so that customers can access their Customer Portals.
- The Subscription activation email sent from ReCharge will only work for BigCommerce customers if account creation is enabled in your store settings.
- Follow the instructions detailed in the section Enabling/Disabling Account Creation in the BigCommerce Help Center before you proceed with this article.
Customer accounts and portals
This article follows the discussion of separate but similar-sounding features.
|Customer Account||BigCommerce||Accessed through the BigCommerce storefront, customers use their storefront account to view transactions and update their addresses.|
|Customer Portal||ReCharge||Accessed through the BigCommerce Customer Account, the Customer Portal is a self-service portal used by customers to maintain their subscriptions post-purchase with actions like adding products or skipping shipments.|
What happens after checkout
After a customer goes through the ReCharge Checkout with a subscription product in their cart, Recharge sends out the Subscription activation notification to the email the customer submitted. This notification is important, as it contains payment details, shipping information, and a link the customer can use to access their customer portal to modify their subscription.
You can enable, disable, or modify the notification by clicking the wrench icon > Notifications in your ReCharge admin. Take a look at Notifications for more information.
Customer account creation
Once you have enabled customer accounts within ReCharge, the way customer accounts are handled depends on if the customer is a new subscriber or not.
If the customer is new, ReCharge creates a customer account in BigCommerce so you have a record of the customer details and purchases made.
If an existing customer is logged into BigCommerce, ReCharge will auto-populate their account information at checkout. If an existing customer does not log in prior to checkout but uses the same email address on file in BigCommerce, the ReCharge subscription purchase will automatically be associated with this account.
Completing the BigCommerce customer account
Even though a customer can access their Customer Portal immediately through the “Manage subscription” link sent in the email notification, customer accounts can not be accessed straightaway after checkout.
Customer accounts are automatically created, but with a temporary unknown password. To access their accounts, customers must reset their password by clicking Login on your storefront, then Forgot your password? We recommend updating your subscription activation emails to include additional instructions for your customers.
Individual account creation
Alternatively, you can assign an individual password to a customer once they've completed their checkout.
This password can then be shared with the customer, and you can force them to reset their assigned password for security.
- Open up the BigCommerce admin.
- Go to Customers > View > Select the customer in question.
- Under Force Password Reset On Next Login, select Yes.
- Assign a password to the customer in Password and Confirm Password.
- Save the customer profile.
Customer portal creation
For every customer that purchases a subscription product, a Customer Portal is created in ReCharge that allows customers to access and manage their subscriptions. The Customer Portal can be accessed using a unique, hashed link that is sent to the customer in their email notifications.
Customers can also access their Customer Portal by logging into their Bigcommerce Storefront Customer account and clicking Manage Subscriptions.
While there, customers can view their BigCommerce orders and an access link to manage their subscriptions. If a customer is having trouble logging in, they can prompt an email to be sent to their account email address with their unique, tokenized Customer Portal link.
For more information and some screenshots, take a look at Using the Novum customer portal with BigCommerce.
Login to BigCommerce to manage subscriptions
Customers can access your storefront login page and enter in their customer account credentials. Once logged in, they will be able to see their BigCommerce orders and a Manage Subscriptions link which will open their Customer Portal.
How does ReCharge determine if a customer has an account with BigCommerce?
ReCharge uses the customer's email address at the time of checkout to check your BigCommerce checkout records. If a customer profile exists in BigCommerce with that email but does not have an existing customer account, they will receive an account invite email.
If an existing customer goes through the checkout and uses a different email address, they will also be invited to register an account in Shopify that will be listed under this email address.
Can customers login during checkout?
No. However, customers can log in prior to checkout. When logged in, customer details will be auto-filled into checkout for convienence.
Why can't my customers see their Manage Subscriptions link?
If a customer were to register with a different email and try to go to their manage subscriptions link on the store's page, they'll receive an error notice saying they currently don't have any subscriptions.
Confirm with the customer which email address they are using and verify the email address on file in ReCharge. If the customer is still experiencing issues, reach out to ReCharge support.