Customers are able to manage their subscriptions via the Customer Portal. Customers can either access their unique hashed links in the email notifications or login to their account on the Shopify storefront and click the Manage Subscriptions link.
ReCharge uses the customer email address to associate their Customer Portal page with their Shopify account. This guide provides an overview of how Shopify customer accounts work with ReCharge and how your customers can access and manage their subscriptions.
How customer accounts work
For every customer that uses the ReCharge checkout, a Customer Portal will be created in ReCharge that allows customers to access and manage their subscriptions. The Customer Portal can be accessed using a unique, hashed link that is sent to the customer in their email notifications.
Customers can also access their Customer Portal by logging into their Shopify customer account. Customers can view their Shopify orders and an access link to manage their subscriptions. If a customer is having trouble logging in, they can prompt an email to be sent to their account email address with their unique, tokenized Customer Portal link.
Customer account creation after checkout
If a new customer makes a purchase at checkout, ReCharge will create a customer profile in Shopify so you have a record of the customer details and purchases made.
After the checkout process is complete, you can opt to send an Account Activation email from Shopify which will provide an opportunity for the customer to create a password. This will create a registered account that is tied to the customer profile record in Shopify. This email can be enabled in Settings > Notifications > Additional settings.
Once the customer registers a password, they can log in through the Shopify account page and access their ReCharge Customer Portal through the Manage Subscriptions link.
If an existing customer is logged into Shopify, ReCharge will auto-populate their account information at checkout. If an existing customer does not log in prior to checkout but uses the same email address on file in Shopify, the ReCharge subscription purchase will automatically be associated with this account.
Login to Shopify to manage subscriptions
Customers can access your storefront login page and enter in their Shopify account credentials. Once logged in, they will be able to see their Shopify orders and a Manage Subscriptions link which will open their Customer Portal.
If your customer has a Shopify customer profile but has not yet registered their account, they can click on the link under the login form. This will prompt the customer to enter their email address and an activation link and temporary Customer Portal link will be emailed.
How does ReCharge determine if a customer has an account with Shopify?
ReCharge uses the customer's email address at time of checkout to check your Shopify checkout records. If a customer profile exists in Shopify with that email but does not have an existing customer account, they will receive an account invite email.
If an existing customer goes through the checkout and uses a different email address, they will also be invited to register an account in Shopify that will be listed under this email address.
What is the difference between the account invite notification and the account access notification?
The account invite email is sent out to new Shopify customers following a checkout purchase. If a customer has an existing Shopify account with a registered password, they will not receive the account invite link in their email.
The account access notification is sent to customers if they click the Having issues managing your subscription? link on the customer login page on your Shopify site. This will forward their custom Customer Portal link to their email with further instructions to register their Shopify account if they have yet to do so.
Where can I edit the account invite notification?
In the event that a customer does not have an existing customer account in Shopify, ReCharge will action Shopify to send out the account invitation notification to your customer. This notification exists within Shopify and can be edited in Settings > Notifications in Shopify.
Where can I edit the account access notification?
If you have Get account access enabled, ReCharge will send out the notification. You can edit the Get account access template in the Notifications section in ReCharge.
Can customer login during checkout?
No. However, customers can login prior to checkout.
My customer cannot see their Manage Subscriptions link.
If a customer were to register with a different email and try to go to their manage subscriptions link on the store's page, they'll receive an error notice saying they currently don't have any subscriptions.
Confirm with the customer which email address they are using and verify the email address on file in ReCharge. If the customer is still experiencing issues, reach out to ReCharge support.
I can't see the notifications in my settings - how can I edit the template?
If you are not seeing the Get account access notification or the Send account invite after checkout, the account creation beta may not be turned on for your store. Reach out to ReCharge support and a team member can enable it for you.
My customer cannot find the account invite notification in their inbox.
Confirm if you have enabled the Send account invite after checkout in the Notifications section in your Settings menu in ReCharge.
If on, check to see if the customer already has a registered Shopify account. This will be noted in their customer profile in Shopify.
If they have an existing account, the customer will not receive an account invite. The customer should try logging into their account on your Shopify store. In the event they are having trouble, they should use the Forget password link to reset their password or use the Having issues managing your subscription? link.
If the customer does not have a registered customer account, you can manually action the email to be resent by clicking Send account invite in their customer profile in Shopify.