If you are the store owner, you can cancel your Recharge account at any time. Cancelling your Recharge account will stop billing on your Recharge account and ensure customers are not billed for subscriptions. This guide provides instructions on how to cancel your Recharge account through the app.
Before you start
- Cancelling or pausing your Shopify store will not automatically stop activity on your Recharge account. As they are separate systems, you will also need to cancel your Recharge account if you are shutting down your Shopify account.
- Cancelling your Recharge account will also disable the standard subscription widget on your storefront so no new customers can purchase subscriptions. If you use custom coding, including AJAX, to direct to the Recharge checkout you will need to disable custom code on your end.
- If you would like to keep your account active but temporarily disable the subscription widget to stop new customers from purchasing subscriptions, visit Enabling or disabling the Recharge subscription widget.
- If you would like to temporarily pause recurring billing for your customers, reach out to Recharge support.
Step 1 - Cancel your Recharge account
If you want to cancel, click the wrench icon in the Recharge Dashboard. Click Store (My Account) and then Cancel my account button.
Fill out the cancellation survey and then click on the Cancel my account button.
A confirmation will appear that your account has been canceled.
Step 2 - Uninstall the Recharge app
Once the cancellation process is finished and the code uninstalled, you can remove the Recharge app from your Shopify store. For information on how to uninstall an app from Shopify, visit the Working with apps guide.
Will you notify my customers that I am shutting down subscriptions?
Recharge does not have a built-in notification to alert customers that subscriptions will be ending. It is the responsibility of the store owner to alert customers of any changes or cancellations to their subscriptions.
I'd like to cancel my account now but use Recharge again in the future. Is this possible?
Of course! If you would ever like to re-enable Recharge, simply reach out to the team. The Recharge staff will help you reinstall Recharge and reactivate your account.
Can I pause my Recharge account?
If you'd like temporarily suspend recurring billing for your merchants, reach out to the Recharge support team. To disable your subscription widget for new customers, visit Enabling or disabling the Recharge subscription widget.