Customers may wish to add a single product to one of their upcoming subscription orders. This is called a One Time Product, and it can be added to an existing subscription address by following the Add Product flow in the Customer Portal.
- The One Time Product is in a closed beta.
- To qualify for the closed beta, you must be on the ReCharge Pro plan.
Understanding One Time Products
The difference between a one-time product and a subscription product is the frequency. As the name suggests, a one-time purchase is only added to the specified upcoming order. Customers will not receive the item again in future recurring orders unless they manually add the product.
If a customer does not have any upcoming recurring orders, a one-time purchase can be added to an unused address with a custom charge date.
One Time Product settings
Currently, we offer two options for One Time Product offerings:
- ReCharge products – Displays products that belong to a ReCharge ruleset.
- All Shopify products – Displays all published products on Shopify, even those not included in a ReCharge ruleset.
NOTE: Any products included in a subscription-only ruleset will display in the "Add Product" search, but will not show the option to be added as a one-time purchase when selected.
Enable One Time Products
For beta testers using this feature, One Time Products can be enabled and disabled through the Customer Portal settings. To access, click on the wrench icon from the ReCharge Dashboard and select Customer portal.
In order for customers to add one-time purchases, you will also need to set the Add products to subscription dropdown to Storeowner and customer in the Subscription details section.
Under the One-time products section in the Customer Portal settings page, set the One-time purchases dropdown to Enabled for everyone. Lastly, set your Products for one-time purchase dropdown to your specified One Time Product option.
Remove a one-time product
You can remove a one-time product from a customer's upcoming order by selecting delete from the Actions column on the primary customer account page.
Your customers can also delete the one time product directly from their end within their Customer Portal.