ReCharge allows you to control your churn by preventing your customers from signing up for a subscription and immediately canceling. This guide provides instructions on how to configure the cancellation settings.
Before you begin
When enabling this feature, it is recommended that you clearly state the cancellation terms to your customers. For example, including text similar to this in the product details:
Subscriptions are set for a minimum of one delivery before you are able to cancel. After your first shipment, you may cancel at any time without incurring cancellation fees. If you would like to control other permissions your customers have in their portal, you can enable/disable many of their abilities via the Customer Portal screen.
Adjust cancellation settings
In the Settings menu, click Customer Portal and locate the Subscription cancellation section.
You can restrict the customer to only be able to cancel after a set number of charges, or you can disable the ability to cancel altogether. In the Customer Portal, the customer will be shown the store's contact email in place of the cancel button. Customers will need to reach out to the store to request a cancellation.
Cancel button for customers in California
California recently passed a new law where subscription customers must have the opportunity to cancel at any time without any restrictions. In order to abide by this legislation, ReCharge has enabled all California subscription customers the ability to cancel at anytime regardless of the store's settings. Additionally, ReCharge has amended the checkout disclaimer to provide information regarding the rights of subscription customers based in California. More information on the legislation can be found here.
If you would like to control other permissions your customers have in their portal, you can enable/disable many of their abilities via the Customer Portal.