This FAQ covers common questions pertaining to Customer accounts with Recharge Checkout on Shopify.
- How does Recharge determine if a customer has an account with Shopify?
- What is the difference between the account invite notification and the account access notification?
- Where can I edit the account invite notification?
- Where can I edit the account access notification?
- Can my customers log in during checkout?
- If I access the customer's account in the Shopify Admin and modify the shipping address, will this update the address on upcoming subscriptions?
How does Recharge determine if a customer has an account with Shopify?
Recharge uses the customer's email address at time of checkout to check your Shopify checkout records. If a customer profile exists in Shopify with that email but does not have an existing customer account, they will receive an account invite email.
If an existing customer goes through the checkout and uses a different email address, they will also be invited to register an account in Shopify that will be listed under the different email address.
What is the difference between the account invite notification and the account access notification?
The account invite email is sent out to new Shopify customers following a checkout purchase. If a customer has an existing Shopify account with a registered password, they will not receive the account invite link in their email.
The account access notification is sent to customers if they click Having issues managing your subscription? on the customer login page on your Shopify storefront. This will forward their tokenized customer portal magic link to their email with further instructions to register their Shopify account if they have yet to do so.
Where can I edit the account invite notification?
In the event that a customer does not have an existing customer account in Shopify, Recharge will action Shopify to send out the account invitation email to your customer. This notification exists within Shopify and can be edited in your Notification settings in Shopify.
Where can I edit the account access notification?
If you have the Get account access enabled in your Recharge notification settings, Recharge will send the notification. You can edit the Get account access template in the Notifications section in Recharge.
Can my customers log in during checkout?
No. However, customers can log in prior to checking out.
If your store has a login form at checkout reach out to Recharge Support to update your checkout.
If I access the customer's account in the Shopify Admin and modify the shipping address, will this update the address on upcoming subscriptions?
No, managing addresses within your Shopify Admin will not update your customer's subscription shipping address. Instead, the customer should open their customer portal and update the address associated with their subscription, or you can update this from the merchant portal.
Didn’t find what you’re looking for?Contact us